Government Announces 30 Smart Cities: Thiruvananthapuram In Top List

Government Announces 30 Smart Cities:  Thiruvananthapuram In Top List

The C Times, 23 June 2017, Agartala: On Friday 23rd June 2017, the government has announced the names of 30 more cities to developed the cities as smart, they picked up the cities so far to 90 under Smart City Mission which launched on 25th June 2015.

The capital of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram remain in the top list of the new smart city list, announced by the Govt. The name of the smart cities announces by the government on Friday are –
1. Thiruvananthapuram                           2. Naya Raipur                                  3. Rajkot,
4. Amaravati                                            5. Patna                                             6. Karimnagar
7. Muzaffarpur                                         8. Puducherry                                    9. Gandhinagar
10. Srinagar                                            11.  Sagar                                          12. Karnal
13.  Satna                                               14.  Bengaluru                                   15.  Shimla
16. Dehradun                                          17. Tiruppur                                       18. Pimpri Chinchwad
19. Bilaspur                                             20. Pasighat                                      21. Jammu
22. Dahod                                               23. Tirunelveli                                    24. Thootukkudi
25. Tiruchirapalli                                     26. Jhansi                                          27. Aizawl
28. Allahabad                                          29. Aligarh                                        30.  Gangtok.

The state Uttarakhand capital Dehradun named into the list as smart cities. Mumbai did not participate in this competition. The announcement of smart cities was given by the Union urban development minister M Venkaiah Naidu.

The government was likely to announce the names of 49 cities but like Bengal and Mumbai brought down the numbers. However, some of the city failed to score the minimum qualifying mark during the competition.

Naidu said that 45 cities contested for 40 available smart city slots but only 30 have been selected to ensure possible and workable plans that match the aspirations of the citizens.

It is learned that these cities have planned to invest Rs 57,393 crore under respective smart city plans. But, the total number of such cities have gone up to 90 with a total investment of Rs 1, 91,155 crores.

Among these 30 smart cities, 26 have been proposed affordable housing projects that will be beneficial for the urban poor, 26 cities proposed for school and hospital projects and 29 will take up redesign and redevelopment of roads.

M Naidu said “All of them will put in place Integrated Command and Control Centres that enable coordination among various agencies for better service delivery and effective management of scarce resources like water and power. So, these are not mere cosmetic changes.”

Share This Post

Post Comment