Political Map of Tripura

Political Map of Tripura

Tripura is the third smallest state of the country. It is one of the seven sisters of the Northeast India. The state covers 10, 491 sq. km of the country’s total land area. According to the Population Census of India in 2011 the state had 3, 671, 032 residents that contributed 0.3% of the total population of the country. It is a landlocked state that is surrounded by Bangladesh in north, south, and west. The eastern part of the state is sharing state boundaries with Mizoram and Assam. To know a state one needs to have a rough idea about its political portray. This page will delegate you to the Political Map of Tripura and give you a brief idea about the state, major districts and cities and significant water bodies and much more.

The only road connection to the state with the country is National Highway 8. This makes the development and livelihood of the people of the state challenging. But still, the state is one of the rapidly developing states of the country. There are five mountain ranges – Shakhan, Longtharai, Atharomura, Boromura and Jampui Hills that runs from north to south of the state with intervening valleys. But despite all the difficulties and hurdles, the state possesses the serene beauty of nature and its ethnic culture and tradition. This makes the state one of the kind.

Political Map of Tripura: Boundaries Shared

The state shares international boundary with the country Bangladesh. It is having the boundary with the country in north, south and west part of the state. According to the history, Comilla district (then Chakla Roshnabad) of Bangladesh was the estate of the kings of Tripura. But, after the partition of India, the district passed on to East Pakistan (now Bangladesh). As a result, the state appears to be almost gulped in by the country Bangladesh.

Bangladesh and India share the fifth longest international land border. Among which Tripura shares 856 km. The state is mainly sharing boundary with two of the north-eastern states of India. One being Assam and the other being Mizoram. The border touches the Karimganj district of Assam and Mamit district of Mizoram.

Political Map of Tripura: Districts and Important Cities

There had been four districts in Tripura. But on January 2012 the number of districts had been raised up to eight in number. The recent districts are – Dhalai, North Tripura, South Tripura, West Tripura, Khowai, Unakoti, Sipahijala, and Gomati. Respective headquarters of the districts are in Ambassa, Dharmanagar, Belonia, Agartala, Khowai, Kailashahar, Bishramganja and Udaipur. The headquarters of the districts are the established cities making them essential for livelihood. The growth in the state’s development made the government segregate just not the districts of the state but also its subdivisions.

January 2012 made twenty three sub divisions and fifty eight development blocks. The development blocks include Panchayats or village councils and town municipalities. Agartala is the state capital city located in the plains of west Tripura district. Other major towns include – Sabroom, Amarpur, Kamalpur, Kumarghat, Sonamura, Bishalgarh, Jogendranagar, Pratapgarh, Gandhigram, Ranirbazar, Teliamura, Mohanpur, Melaghar, Kathaliya, Santirbazar, Baxanagar and the towns locating district headquarters. The major towns were represented by the Population Census of 2015. Each town holds a population of ten thousand or more.

Political Map of Tripura: Roadways and Railways

The state is a landlocked state primarily dependent on roads for communication. The total length of the roads is 16, 931 km. The National Highway includes 88 km of it. The state highways include another 689 km of the total. The only major road NH – 8 or the lifeline of Tripura connects the state with the rest of the country. The National Highway starts from Sabroom located at South Tripura. It then heads towards north entering the capital city Agartala. Then turning east and further turning northeast reaches the state of Assam. Though there is another connecting National Highway, NH – 108, of the town Manu of Dhalai district with Aizawl, Mizoram, still NH – 8 is the prime connector of the state with the whole country.

The railway network is also available in the state. The railway line covers 153 km in the state. The railway connection is made between Agartala to Dharmanagar, Agartala to Kolkata, Agartala to Delhi, and Agartala to Lumding and most recently Agartala to Udaipur. The recent railway track is laid up to Udaipur that is being architected up to Sabroom located at South Tripura. New railway line will be laid westwards from Agartala to Akhaura in Bangladesh, making the railway connection the international one. This project will shorten the distance between Agartala and Kolkata by one thousand kilometers and will also provide railway network up to Chittagong port.

Political Map of Tripura: Major Water Bodies and Hills

As said already the state has a major communicative aspect, the road. The road transport is the compulsory medium of transport even after the compilation of railways in the communication network. The majority of the towns are connected with each other via the five major hill ranges of the state. Boromura in the west through Atharamura, Longtharai, and Shakhan, to the Jampui Hills in the east connects the whole state from north to south.

The state consists of some non-perennial rivers. The major rivers that flow towards the north include – Khowai, Dhalai, Manu, Juri and Longai. Gomati flows to the west. Muhri and Feni rivers flow towards the south-west of the state. All these rivers are originated from the hills of Tripura and flow into Bangladesh.

The state is a basket of natural beauty. The Political Map of Tripura directs you to know about the state sketchily. The overall information is just enough to revise about the state before you start to plan your vacation or to increase your knowledge of this small yet marvelous piece of beauty. The information pinned above summarizes the definition of what a political map is all about. It very neatly documented the name of the major cities, transport mediums and the water bodies and hills without which the state cannot really think to exist.

Share This Post

Post Comment