Vice President Election: M. Venkaiah Naidu vs Gopalkrishna Gandhi

Vice President Election: M. Venkaiah Naidu vs Gopalkrishna Gandhi

C Times, 5 August 2017, Agartala

Members of Parliament will cast their ballot on Saturday for the Vice-President election. Ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate is M. Venkaiah Naidu and the Opposition has fielded Gopalkrishna Gandhi against him.

Members of Parliament will use special pens for making their choice in the election to be held between 10 am to 5 pm. Counting of votes will commence after polling and the results will be declared by 7 pm.

Though the JD (U) has broken ties with ‘mahagathbandhan’ and joined hands with the BJP to form a new government in Bihar, it has decided to vote for Mr Gandhi, a former Governor of West Bengal. The BJD has also decided to back him.

No whip can be issued by political parties as the election is through a secret ballot.

While Naidu has the support of the NDA parties along with AIADMK, TRS and YSTCP, Gandhi will get the votes of MPs belonging to the Congress, TMC, RJD, JD(U), NCP, Left and other smaller parties. In the vice-presidential election, members of both Houses of Parliament will vote in a closed ballot.

A total of 713 votes has been polled till now. The total number of MPs who are eligible to vote number 790.

The NDA has 337 MPs in the Lok Sabha and 80 in the Rajya Sabha. Naidu is expected to get 484 of the total 790 votes — parties like AIADMK, YSRCP and TRS, which have extended their support, together account for 67 MPs.

Gopalkrishna Gandhi will get votes of MPs of Congress, NCP, Trinamool, SP, BSP, JD (U), RJD, DMK and other smaller parties which are aligned against the NDA.


Share This Post

Post Comment